El Paso Independent School District Minutes of Board School Name Committee Meeting October 8, 2002 3:30 p.m. Education Center-Boeing

Present:	Mr. Sal Mena, Jr., Board Member, Board School Name Committee Chairperson Mr. Dan Wever, Board President Mr. Joe Rosales, Board Member
Administration:	Mr. Charles Tafoya, Acting Superintendent Mr. Luis Villalobos, Executive Director, Communications and Business Partnerships
Guests:	Dr. Gene Finke, Board Vice President Miss Leonor Garcia, Board Secretary Dr. Charles Roark, Board Member ¹ Mr. Richard Telles, Board Member

The meeting was called to order at 3:45 p.m. by Mr. Mena.

The topics discussed were as follows:

- 1. <u>Naming of Northwest Elementary School</u> (Item #1, A.)
 - a. Reviewed Board Policy CW (Local), New Facilities
 - b. Received 31 nominations

Speakers to this item:

- (1) Mr. Rudy Resendez spoke in support of naming the school Lorenzo G. LaFarelle.
- (2) Mr. Jimmy Rogers spoke in support of naming the school Mary Tippin.
- (3) Mr. Gerald Cheek spoke in support of naming the school Mary Tippin.
- (4) Ms. Winona McKay spoke in support of naming the school Mary Tippin.
- (5) Dr. Joseph E. Torres spoke in support of naming the school Lorenzo G. LaFarelle.
- (6) Messrs. Bill and Walter Tippin spoke in support of naming the school Mary Tippin.
- c. It was the consensus of the Board School Name Committee to recommend Mary Tippin as the name for the new Northwest Elementary School.
- 2. <u>Naming of Jefferson High School Gymnasium</u> (Item #1, B.)
 - a. Received recommendation for H. R. Moye
 - b. It was the consensus of the Board School Name Committee to obtain input on a name from the students at Jefferson High School.

Meeting Adjourned

The meeting was adjourned 4:08 p.m.

Date Approved: March 25, 2003

¹ Dr. Roark arrived at 4:00 p.m.