Minutes of Meeting of Board of Trustees El Paso Independent School District June 3, 2003 5:00 p.m. Education Center-Boeing

Present: Mr. Dan Wever, President

Dr. Gene Finke, Vice President Miss Leonor Garcia, Secretary

Mr. Carlos Cordova Mr. Sal Mena, Jr. Dr. Charles Roark

Mr. Charles L. Tafoya, Superintendent Mr. Anthony Safi, School District Attorney

Absent: Mr. Richard Telles

The meeting was called to order at 5:07 p.m. by Mr. Wever.

Canvassing of Votes and Declaring Results of May 31, 2003, Board of Trustees Run-Off Election

It was moved by Mr. Mena and seconded by Mr. Cordova that the Assistant Secretary's report and certification of run-off election results be accepted (copy attached to the permanent file of these minutes); that the Order Canvassing Returns and Declaring Results of Trustee Run-Off Election be adopted (copy attached to the permanent file of these minutes); and that the Board make the following declarations: Dr. Lorraine O'Donnell, District 6, is elected to the Board of Trustees and Mr. David Dodge, District 7, is elected to the Board of Trustees, for a four-year term. Upon the vote, the motion carried with Mr. Wever voting "present." Dr. Roark was not present for the vote.

2. Report(s) from Outgoing Board of Trustees Member(s)

 $\mbox{Dr.}$ Finke and $\mbox{Mr.}$ Wever spoke about their tenures as members of the EPISD Board of Trustees.

3. Oath of Office to Board of Trustees Members

Ms. Shelly R. Bohren, Notary Public and Recording Secretary for the Board of Trustees, administered the Oath of Office to newly-elected Board members Dr. Lorraine O'Donnell, District 6, and Mr. David Dodge, District 7

4. Reorganization of Board of Trustees

To comply with Board Policy BDA (Local), the next order of business was the reorganization of the Board by conducting the election of officers.

Mr. Tafoya asked for nominations for the office of president. It was moved by Mr. Cordova and seconded by Dr. O'Donnell that Mr. Sal Mena, Jr. be nominated for president. It was moved by Miss Garcia and seconded by Mr. Dodge that Dr. Charles Roark be nominated for president. The nominations for the office of president were closed. Mr. Tafoya called for the vote for the office of president. Mr. Cordova,

Mr. Mena, and Dr. O'Donnell voted for Mr. Mena; Miss Garcia and Mr. Dodge voted against Mr. Mena; and Dr. Roark voted "present." Mr. Mena was declared President of the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Mena assumed his position as president and asked for nominations for the office of vice president. It was moved by Mr. Cordova and seconded by Mr. Mena that Dr. Lorraine O'Donnell be nominated for vice president.

It was moved by Mr. Mena and seconded by Mr. Dodge that the Board waive Board Policy BDAA (Local), which states that a Trustee must have completed a minimum of one year on the Board prior to being a candidate for an officer position. Upon the vote, the motion carried with Miss Garcia voting against the motion.

Upon the vote for vice president, Dr. O'Donnell was elected unanimously and was declared Vice President of the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Mena asked for nominations for the office of secretary. It was moved by Mr. Mena and seconded by Mr. Dodge that Mr. Carlos Cordova be nominated for secretary.

Mr. Mena withdrew his motion and Mr. Dodge withdrew his second.

It was moved by Dr. Roark, seconded by Dr. O'Donnell, and carried unanimously that the Board again waive Board Policy BDAA (Local).

It was moved by Mr. Mena and seconded by Dr. Roark that Mr. Carlos Cordova be nominated for secretary. Upon the vote for secretary, Mr. Cordova was elected unanimously and was declared Secretary of the Board of Trustees.

5. Appointment of Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees

It was moved by Mr. Cordova, seconded by Mr. Dodge, and carried unanimously that Mr. Charles L. Tafoya be named Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees.

Meeting Adjourned

The meeting was adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

Date Approved: August 12, 2003